Broken – I doubt before I believe

In the past I used to doubt before I could believe.

Most of the time it wasn’t a problem because I bring myself back to the moment and remind myself that belief is essential for anything to succeed. So in a way I guess I can say my negative habit of doubt helped me to kick into my more positive focus on belief, until my focus on belief became stronger.

Still, I used to wonder, if I wasn’t broken maybe things might happen faster.

Would I be a full-time writer earning an income using my craft? Could I have achieved more? Should I have made more of an effort to abandon what people expected of me and followed my heart.

Still, woulda, coulda, shoulda and what ifs or maybes never really helped anyone so I focus on where I am now, knowing that many before me started late and succeeded.

Somedays as I write I still feel broken, or maybe chipped, and I do my best to fill that in and keep focused on belief. Its an ongoing saga for me.

 

Daily prompt

Tell us about a habit you’d like to break. Is there any way it can play a positive role in your life? Photographers, artists, poets: show us BROKEN.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/10/26/daily-prompt-broken/

11 thoughts on “Broken – I doubt before I believe

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Breakdown | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Hard Habit to Break | My Atheist Blog

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Break The Bad Habits | DeafGuy Blog

  4. Pingback: The 3 stages | A mom's blog

  5. Nice article, Diane!

    Doubt is a hard thing to avoid. I don’t think that anyone is completely free of doubt, and critical thinking helps us focus on which things are worthwhile and helps us to constantly improve ourselves.

    I think it’s actually very courageous and strong of you to continue to try to succeed even with doubt in your mind. And being able to change doubt into belief is an amazing skill. Keep on going!

    • Thank you, I appreciate your comment Maosuke. It definitely is true that despite the doubt and the endless chatter in my head I have been able to rise above it and move forward. Didn’t happen overnight but it has been worth learning to live that way!

  6. Pingback: Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  7. Pingback: Habit breaking | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  8. Pingback: Breakdown: Broken Down | Khana's Web

  9. Pingback: Rob's Surf Report

  10. Pingback: BECOMING | hastywords

Comments are closed.