You’re like a cat – you only call when you want something

Today’s daily prompt is called Sad but True

Tell us about the harshest, most difficult to hear — but accurate — criticism you’e ever gotten. Does it still apply? Photographers, artists, poets: show us HARSH.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/10/22/daily-prompt-harsh/

It was 2003 and I am on another self-development weekend workshop. My assignment is to ask all my friends how I “show up” – what kind of friend am I. I couldn’t believe it when after all the positive responses one male friend said.

“You are like a cat – you only ever call me when you want something.”

To him a cat is totally independent and aloof until they want to be fed then they are all over you and wanting to be stroked. Then, once fed, the disappear until their stomach is empty again.

I did my best to deny it. I sat back and thought about all the times I had called him over the last six months, well as many of them as I could remember, and I pointed out the reason for my call. Turns out he was right. I did only ever call him when I wanted something from him.

Then I realized something else. There are a number of male friends that I call only when I want something. It soon became apparent to me that I did that because I felt I could only call them if I had something to ask or to say. Mainly I had stuff to ask and so that is how I showed up as their friend. The taker with questions.

It really did help me to transform that habit and start ringing “just because” or just to say hi – no reason or intention other than to check in. It made a huge difference.

Some of the other sad but true stories

  1. Harsh | The Magic Black Book
  2. My.Vivid.Visions | Daily Prompt: Sad But True – Emotions
  3. Winter Is Near (Harsh) | photo potpourri
  4. Daily Prompt: Sad But True | Under the Monkey Tree
  5. Accurate | Lost in Adeline’s
  6. Criticism never kills | Clandestine Destiny
  7. That Was Way Harsh [Daily Prompt: Sad But True] | unknowinglee
  8. ‘You are DELUDED!’ | alienorajt
  9. Telling myself off. | thoughtsofrkh
  10. Always impatient | crookedeyebrows
  11. Daily Prompt: Sad But True – Criticism | Anniemation Floe
  12. (22) Daily Prompt: Sad But True | Family, Photos, Food & Craft
  13. Daily Prompt: Sad But True « Mama Bear Musings
  14. My Fiancé thinks I am a Junkie! | Shiwanidoez
  15. Writing Advice; “Good Writing Is Persisting” (short fiction) | The Jittery Goat
  16. the truth hurts like a 4 year old’s stomp on your foot | wannabepoet
  17. Daily Prompt: Sad But True | Awl and Scribe
  18. Lolz Criticism | મન ની વાત
  19. DAILY PROMPT: SAD BUT TRUE? | SERENDIPITY
  20. You’re Useless | submissivelysecret
  21. Daily Prompt: Sad But True (A Conversation Between Friends) | I Hope You’re Taking Notes
  22. She Sees the World Through Rose Coloured Glasses … | Girlie Groove
  23. Maybe it’s you. Daily Prompt: Sad But True | Reinvention of Mama
  24. Puppy Mill Life… | Haiku By Ku
  25. Daily Prompt: Sad But True | Chicomallorca’s Blog
  26. Harshest | Hope* the happy hugger
  27. Regarding Those Friends Who See Through You to Something Better: | Rob’s Surf Report
  28. The Lurker’s List | Misery
  29. Daily Prompt: Sad But True | The Story of a Guy
  30. Daily Prompt: Sad but True | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  31. Sad but True | Kate Murray
  32. Don’t take it personally … | 365 And Counting
  33. I do not like doing things wrong! | Eccentric Lady
  34. Admit It. | ayimas
  35. No willpower | Life is great
  36. Oooo…ouch…. | Maybe Not So Zen…
  37. Sad but True? | Going New Places!
