My “I am a writer” affirmation has kicked in

It is November 2012 and I decide it is time to follow my dream to write short stories. I have no idea how to start but most of all I don’t “feel” like a writer.

So I tell myself (and anyone who will listen) quite firmly. “I am a writer” and when anyone official asks me what I do for a living now I tell them “I am a freelance writer” and then finally, after almost 11 months of saying it my “I am a writer” affirmation has kicked in and I actually FEEL like a writer. I am not just saying the words and feeling empty. I believe in my heart that I am a writer.

It all started one day two weeks ago when a story floated around in my head and became a voice. Once it became a voice I began to write it down. Once written down I read and re-read it a few times editing as I went. Then finally I printed off the final version. It doesn’t have a title yet but I have my very first short story (2,900 words). So far I have been writing flash fiction (stories under and up to 1,000 words) and loving that.

During these months while I speak my affirmation I have also self-published my first book so it has been an active few months for me.

I have always found that affirmations do work when you combine them with thinking and speaking the affirmations into existence. If I had said “I am a writer” but never wrote anything, never spoke like a writer or asked my friends to speak to me as a writer (I no longer focus on online marketing – I am a writer) perhaps actually believing the affirmation would take a lot longer.

Speak, act and think like the affirmation you are repeating and you become that affirmation – positive or negative – so watch out for those “I am so stupid” and “I am useless with money” negative affirmations that may be in your life even now. Some may be subconsciously controlling your life.

Be firm, be bold, write and speak affirmations that build your self-confidence. Give them time and believe and they will become your reality.

2 thoughts on “My “I am a writer” affirmation has kicked in

Comments are closed.