The day I took a different road

I had a choice to make. It was 1991 and I was shy. I had to decide whether life was going to remain the same or change. I wanted so much to be different. I wasn’t even sure who I was and what I wanted. All I knew is that I needed to gain some confidence. To enjoy a larger perspective on life and what was possible. Right now my life was pretty much in place following a path of having babies and sticking to a job I hated. Is that it? Was there more?

21 years later I have found that there is more if you want it. I can’t say that building my self-confidence was an easy journey but now I make decision based on who I am and what I want for myself. Before I was told what I wanted for my life and I followed along regardless. I am happier than I would have been? That’s hard to say. I know I am happy. I know I love what I do and its great to have seen all three of my children grow up because I was at home. Financial it has been up and down but they have memories of me being there. Something that would never have happened in the past.

I took my road. Is it less travelled? I would say yes. There are not many people willing to give up everything and start again not knowing what they wanted to do or how things will work out.

Daily Prompt: The Road Less Traveled
Pinpoint a moment in your past where you had to make a big decision. Write about that other alternate life that could have unfolded.
http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/07/02/daily-prompt-other/

