A meal made with love

This blog post is part of the weekly writing challenge over at The Daily Post. I thought it would be a great way to ‘christen’ my new blog.

A meal made with love

6193397911_8790d8cb9a_b

His obsession with food was legendary. Well, in our part of town it was. His need for perfection was tolerated. Well, by those of us who wanted to work with him at least. When Chef Jackson laid his hands on raw food it was always turned into a meal made with love. Expertly cut, delicately cooked, creatively laid out to eat. Each dish a masterpiece to behold.

I was in love with him. They all knew that in the kitchen. How could you not be? His fiery temper mixed in with his passion and desire to create the best gourmet eating experience this side of London Bridge. I dreamt about him in those brief moments when we were given permission to go home and sleep. When you worked with this man you were his 24/7/365, no questions asked, for a whole year. After that time the world was your oyster. The best jobs secured. The best salaries expected. I was ready to give this man my life for the next 12 months. I loved him that much. From afar.

He watched in despair at some of the stock brokers who sat and ate his art. Not enough time to really taste what was being chewed they gobbled it down and left. Then occasionally, like today, he’d receive a compliment from someone who enjoyed his food. Who could taste the hint of mint in his ice cream or smell the subtle aroma of spices rubbed into his Wild Scottish Pheasant. These moments he loved. When that happened he opened his heart and gave one of us the honour of standing beside him to help him cook. Today it was me. I watched his hands at work. I watched him delicately handle the food. I couldn’t help but wish those hands were on me.

13 thoughts on “A meal made with love

  1. Loved reading this- a real story- my favorite things to read are pieces you can visualize and relate to. Could see this all so clearly. Thanks- great read!

  2. Pingback: Gronkowski Bros. | Weekly Writing Challenge: 1,000 Words | mattsden101

    • Thank you, I appreciate your comment. I am due to start a creative writing course soon so hopefully vivid will be something I can continue to offer 🙂

  3. This is really good Diane. You gave life to the picture through your words. Thumbs up!

  4. An excellent story of love for cooking and unrequited love. You write very well and smoothly. It seems you put love into your writing and much as the cook puts love into his food.

    • Awww thanks 🙂
      I do love writing and I am loving connecting to different writers on WordPress.

Comments are closed.