Why did it take me so long?

This is a question I have been asking myself a lot lately.

Not that the answer will matter. The fact is it takes as long as it takes.

Some days I wonder if I was born to write and born to inspire why it didn’t happen sooner.

My journey didn’t start until I was 25 anyway and by then I was raising babies.

self confidence courseIt took me quite a while to get a handle on my own self-confidence.

Divorce. Single motherhood. Self employment. Everything got in the way

My only true passion was to write and at the age of 13 I considered it.

At the age of 30 I considered it again.

All you can do when you lack self-confidence is consider things.

Because actually taking action will mean stepping forward and being ready to shine.

When one teacher told me I was brilliant and within months a writing tutor told me I was not that good the dream went on hold once more.

In fact I buried it deep within.

Then in 2011. Tired of being buried and in prison. Tired of watching me promote other people online and help them build their profile the voice screamed out.

“DON’T YOU GET IT… YOU WANT TO WRITE….”

And with that the writer in me was set free 33 years after it was first created.

Why did it take me so long? Because there were things I had to learn I guess.

The important thing is I have made it happen. Or at least when my book is published in April 2013 I will have made it happen

3 thoughts on “Why did it take me so long?

  1. I ask myself this a lot as well ! I have been out of highschool for 5 years… And I am just now deciding to go back ! WHY DID IT TAKE SO LONG ? Life gets in the way of things… you just lose sight of what you really want to do.

    • Well congratulations to you on making the decision to go back and good luck on your journey. I will be staying in touch with your blog and look forward to updates. I am definitely keeping my sights on my goals this time!

Comments are closed.